top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAnkita Sundaram

Kelley Alumni Spotlight: Ellyn Burnett


Ellyn Burnett is the executive director of Business Intelligence and Data Analytics at the Chicago Mercantile Exchange (CME). Chicago Mercantile Exchange is a facility that offers trading services in business, power, agriculture, real estate, and other commodities. She graduated from Indiana University’s Kelley School of Business in 1997 with a degree in Accounting and then went on to Depaul University and got a Masters in Information Systems. I had the pleasure to interview her this past week and document her experiences in the company, how tech has shaped her role, and what advice she has for women looking to go into the tech industry.


How did you get into the technology industry? Did you pivot from other industries?

Upon getting my bachelor’s degree, I worked within CME’s internal audits and systems with a focus on compliance audits. Internal audits evaluate a company’s internal controls to make sure the accounting processes are in compliance with the laws and regulations. In this position, I provided risk assessments, provided clearing fee and operational audits, and implemented screen changes. I was in this position for about seven years, and then in 2004, I pivoted from that role into Project Manager in the post-trade technology/exchange business system.


Could you describe your role in CME?

During a normal day, there isn’t really a set schedule I follow. Each day brings new tasks and there’s so much unpredictability within the tech world. As an executive director, I deal primarily with automation (getting manual practices to move to applications). A lot of time I work with teams to create slide decks and strategize for meetings with stakeholders, but other times it’s also working with clients to get them comfortable on tech and stop processes that are time consuming.


What are the technology applications you use during your job and how are they relevant?

When starting my position many years ago, I would use C# programming pretty regularly but now, it isn’t as relevant with my position since I’m in a managerial role. Knowing a programming language when applying to jobs can be extremely valuable because it shows you have a diverse skill set and can think about tasks both analytically and practically.


How do you think technology shapes the way we interact with each other?

When I was at IU, there was no option to major in Business Analytics or Information Systems, so I didn’t realize the importance of tech until I got into the workplace and saw it implemented in projects. Technology has a high demand with not many people wanting to work in that industry. Coming out of college, having that technology background can be one of the most valuable assets to any employer. With COVID-19 taking out in-person meetings for over a year, technology was the reason why we were still able to make change and come together as a company.


Have you experienced any gender discrimination in the workplace? And if you have and you’re comfortable, could you talk about how you combatted that experience?

There have been very few instances where I’ve been discriminated against in the workplace. Since I’ve been at the company for so long, the inclusivity initiatives of CME has allowed me to gain equal opportunities. As long as you do your job well and show that you can understand the task and adapt, you will get promoted regardless of gender. It’s always important to set aside those little things and to leverage opportunities.


How do you think Kelley prepared you for the business-technology workplace?

One of my most impactful classes was Business Presentations the first year of college. The skills we learned still carry with me as I interact with stakeholders. The way we articulate our thoughts and convey our arguments is one of the most important things you can do. Taking I-Core Junior year set me up for success today. . With so many classes in just one semester, it taught me how to have discipline and stay organized. The long exams also taught me about time management. I also learned how accounting and tech have so much overlap. The numbers, budgeting, company performance, and transactions all require technology to make it happen. I was able to see this realization hands-on.

What advice would you give for a woman looking to go into the field of business technology upon graduation?

At IU, get involved in as many organizations as possible and figure out what your interests are. For me, I pivoted into technology after graduation, but getting exposure earlier is even better. If you can, try to have some part of your major fall within tech. Either a co-major or minor in Business Analytics/Information Systems will set you apart heavily in the job market and will also give you something to fall back on. Look at the different tech aspects like writing code, Python, Tableau, and try to explore those things upon graduation.




31 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page